Gil Shaham, violin and Akira Eguchi, piano

One of the foremost violinists of our time, Gil Shaham is a Grammy Award-winner and has been acclaimed for his appearances on the concert stage since the age of 10. He is joined by distinguished pianist and composer Akira Eguchi.


Preludium and Allegro (In the Style of Pugnani)
The Singing Turk: Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano
Nigunim (Sonata No. 3 for Violin and Piano)
Partita No. 3 in E Major for Solo Violin, BWV 1006
Sonata in A Major for Violin and Piano

Tickets from $42

Please note that the balcony and mezzanine are closed at this time. You can check back at a later date to see if they are open, or call Ticket Services and ask a team member to notify you if either of those sections open up.

Program Notes

Pre-Performance Event

Scott Wheeler: The Presence of the Musical Past
April 5, 2019, 7 PM
UNC’s Gerrard Hall
Free and open to the public

Composer Scott Wheeler discusses how his Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano draws on works by George Frideric Handel, Gioachino Antonio Rossini, and Paul-César Gibert. In addition, he considers how Fritz Kreisler and Johann Sebastian Bach incorporated earlier styles into their compositions.

This event takes place directly before renowned violinist Gil Shaham and pianist Akira Eguchi perform at Carolina Performing Art’s Memorial Hall. Wheeler’s work The Singing Turk: Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano will be played by Shaham and Eguchi.

Presenting Sponsor

The William R. Kenan, Jr. Charitable Trust